The Ebony Quill

Thoughts, reflections, and whimsies as I experience life

Summer Reading List

I have finally finished reading all of Jane Austen’s works, with the exception of Northanger Abbey, which I will eventually get around to.  Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, and Sense and Sensibility were most definitely favorites of mine, and I enjoyed watching the film adaptations of the novels after I read them.  Austen’s style of writing is beautifully eloquent, detailed, and expressive, which captivated my attention, and her characters are dynamic and well-developed.  And, of course, Austen’s stories ensure a happy ending, which is impossible to resist and–although expected–never gets old.

I must now construct a summer reading list so that although my body may be lazy, my mind continues to whir.  I’m ready to move on to the next set of classic books this summer, which I will steadily plow through: Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre and Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights (I must give the sisters equal attention)Of course, I will be looking at other bloggers’ reading lists to help form my own, so please recommend any interesting books!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. Austen rocks! I would recommend Great Expectations, The Devil Wears Prada, Bridget Jones’ Diary and Nicholas Nickleby.

Tell me what you think!

