The Ebony Quill

Thoughts, reflections, and whimsies as I experience life

And then the librarian gave me a funny look…

I checked out an armful of books the other day from the local library and the unusual mix caused the librarian to look at me oddly, but it was probably more so because she doubted I’d actually read all of the books.

It’s an eclectic group, but here we go:

1) The World We Found, by Thrity Umrigar

2) The Psychology Book (I’m not a psychology major, but I really wanted to learn more about it….)

3) Catch-22, by Joseph Heller (I have resolved to read as many of the great literary classics as possible)

4) Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë

5) On Writing, by Stephen King (hoping he’ll give me some tips and encouragement for my own book!)

6) The Book Thief, by Marcus Zusak

7) Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë

8) The Girl in the Garden, by Kamala Nair

In addition, I’ve reserved several books: The Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore, Destined by Aprilynne Pike (I like to finish series that I’ve started, whether or not I have lost interest in the story), and Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (again, I like to finish a series, mostly out of curiosity, and also because I want to make sure I read the rest of the Hunger Games trilogy before I rant about how it doesn’t meet the standards set by the Harry Potter series.)  One series, however, which I refuse to finish is the Twilight series.  I just can’t.  Books that do not have a strong female character–or just a strong protagonist in general–seriously arouse my ire, and the way Bella so willingly and completely devotes herself to a vampire who is struggling with himself not to suck her blood and kill her is ridiculously masochistic and sends a terrible message to young girls.

Let the reading begin!

Single Post Navigation

Tell me what you think!

