The Ebony Quill

Thoughts, reflections, and whimsies as I experience life

Getting back into writing

On Saturday evening, I decided I had to go back to writing my novel.  Looking at the computer warily, I felt scared.  What if the words didn’t flow?  What if I ran out of ideas?  What if I realized my writing was terrible and became too discouraged to continue?  Basically, what if I couldn’t do it?  Then I remembered a line from Stephen King’s On Writing: “The scariest moment is always just before you start.  After that, things can only get better.”  So I took a deep breath, opened up the Word document, opened my notebook to my confusing, sprawling outline, and started.

I won’t lie–it was hard.  On Saturday, I just wrote whatever came to my mind, happy to have written 1,000 words.  On Sunday, however, after working on the novel intermittently throughout the day, I realized there was a gaping hole in the plot.  Something just didn’t make sense.  Frustrated, I just stopped where I was and went to bed, thinking about how much of a failure I was, and imagined the whole story falling apart.  (It’s funny how hard we are on ourselves sometimes when things don’t work out.)  This morning, feeling more composed and bit more optimistic, I ran through the sequence of events, trying to figure out where I went wrong.  Suddenly, the solution to my problem appeared, clear and fully formed.  I patched up the hole and smoothed the corners, rewriting the paragraphs until they felt right.  (I’m not sure how other people work on their drafts, but I have to keep rewriting something until the words sound right and feel right.  After I have reached that point of satisfaction, I refuse reread and continuously edit until the second draft, because I know how dangerous this process is and how it will inhibit the progress of my novel.  But I am trying, slowly and steadily, to stop editing and just keep moving.)

Do you have a special process you go through when you write?  Is it hard for you to restart after being away from your work for a while?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Getting back into writing

  1. Katie on said:

    I’m so happy that you’re working on your novel again. It is tough to get back into; after all, there was something that made you stop. I’ve been focusing lately on trusting myself to write the story, as sometimes I feel like I’m not ready/good enough for what I intend. When that happens, I sit down with a notebook and write some questions about my novel, and that helps me come up with the answers I need to keep going.
    Best of luck to you!

  2. I skip through various parts of my WIP, and then connect it all together as I go. As long as I’m writing something, I don’t focus on it being perfect the first time around. I usually start with the beginning several chapters, then the end, then the middle.

Tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

