The Ebony Quill

Thoughts, reflections, and whimsies as I experience life

Ah, those cell phones

I can’t believe I haven’t posted in (exactly) one month!  I apologize; I was busy with college… and I couldn’t think up any ideas on what to post.

However, I wanted to talk about cell phones in awkward social situations.  Something I’ve noticed–and am perhaps guilty of on occasion–is that people (high school and college students in particular) tend to whip out their cell phones and start fiddling with apps and text messages when they’re in an uncomfortable or boring situation.  Specifically, when waiting in line for something.

Before, one would make conversation with his/her neighbor or even stand around and people-watch.  You know, take in one’s surroundings and appreciate people’s oddities and pick up tidbits about their lives.  Think about what one has to accomplish that day.  Think about what you’d rather be doing.  Ponder unanswerable questions.  Search for the meaning of life.

But answers to these questions can’t arise when you’re distracted by updating your status rather than experiencing it, what’s going on in your friends’ lives, how many people “liked” the photo you just posted, etc.  Sure, you may be being “productive,” checking your email or doing other work-related things, but I firmly believe that there’s a time and place for everything.  Ultimately, it’s like you’re creating your own mental block.

Now as I stare at the line of people slowly edging towards the cash register, all with their phones out, I feel awkward staring at them… and I take my phone out, too.

Have you ever noticed people using their cell phones in line, or are you guilty of the same?  What do you think about it?

Single Post Navigation

Tell me what you think!

